A Letter From His Sister

I’m Cesar Montano’s older sister and I’m currently one of the Project Managers of Times Media Group here in London.

I do agree that a lot of Philippine movie actors, talented and less talented, have been trying the world of politics, perhaps, either for survival – for continuance of a better life or let me put it this way, to shun misery as we all know that politics is a good business , or to truly serve our country. This fact is indeed a picture of a desperate political situation in the Philippines, and this is really sad. I must say that this is a sign that we we do not have anymore deserving, highly educated and reliable people to serve our land. Indeed a disgusting fact to accept. I wonder what the future holds for our country.

As one of the reasons in writing you, let me tell you something about my family. We seven children 2 girls and 5 boys, were nurtured by a severe and simple lawyer father, a Roman Catholic and a Seventh Day Adventist mother. They always wanted us to lead a simple life and have taught us to be always righteous, to have principles and have our own Godly conviction. In fact, in the 60’s my father who was then a Custom Arrastre Officer in the South Harbour of Manila, refused to accept 1 million of pesos from a Chinese businessman to smuggle out something. That means my father should have let a lorry of items to get out of Gate 1 without paying the duties. He told the other colleagues of this offer and they made a setup to block it. The day after, my father’s photo was in the newspapers holding a plaque for his honesty and few days after somebody tried to shoot him on his way home while driving his motorbike along Roxas Blvd but thank God the injury was not that serious.

I must say that this is the most wonderful treasure that our father had left us before he passed away apart from the hectares of land in Bohol province. My father would always taught us ” my children, my good deeds are the best things that I could leave you and hope you will treasure them”. Cesar for one has followed that. If i remember it right, his manager, Norma Japitana, was telling me one time at a dinner that Cesar has refused several commercials which involved a huge amount of money. His contention was the products are not good for the health of the people, and I am very proud of him!

For your information, Cesar is not only a very good actor ( I can say that many times ), director and producer who has captured the A, B and C clients for his movies, but also a Civil Engineer and very good painter. Actually, he gave me two paintings for my house in italy which he painted only several hours during his stay at my home 5 years ago.

I, therefore, believe that being a man of principles, having Godly convictions, a good christian and charity worker, he will be able to serve our people in a righteous way with our Dear Lord beside him. And, besides, is it not that before one becomes a president or a senator, he or she should be in the office first. Let us take Ramon Magsaysay, he had been a mechanic before he became a President of the Republic of the Philippines and with my knowledge about our history, he has been considered to be one of the best presidents that we have ever had. So please give Cesra a chance to serve our country and do not underestimate him as he is full of talents and a good guy. He has a lot of good plans for our educational and health improvement. I, for one, will also share him the good things that I have seen around Europe for 21 years that we could possibly apply for the benefits of our people. Please do not forget that Cesar himself is a well-travelled man and he has got a hands-on approach in life. he is very pragmatic. Lastly, he has admitted that he has to study a lot in order to remove ignorance on his part, politically wise. I am not saying this just because he is my brother, but because as a sister I know his heart, He’s got a BIG ONE and the Holy Spirit dwells in it. He is a good christian, you know.

Best regards,
Maria Mercedes M. Cantù

Reference:FarFromNeutralNotions

Leave a Reply

